Everything You Need To Know About the UEFA Nations League

Everything You Need To Know About the UEFA Nations League
✍️ Written by
Frank Weber
🗓 Updated
Aug 8th 2023

Well, it’s officially June, which can only mean one thing–it's time for the third installation of the UEFA Nations League. If you’re unfamiliar with the Nations League, don’t beat yourself up–it's relatively new and does not get much press. However, as international soccer continues to sweep the nation, it’s about time you learn about Europe's newest premier tournament. If you want to place some bets on the UEFA Nations League, you can do so through any of the Michigan Online Casinos.

The UEFA Nations League is a competition between the 55 member nations of UEFA. It was created because the UEFA nations wanted more competitive games on their schedules and fewer friendlies. So, in lieu of international friendlies, UEFA member teams now compete in the Nations League, which is a prestigious tournament run every other year. The 2018-2019 champion was Portugal, and the 2020-2021 champion was France.

The 55 nations are split up into four “leagues,” A-D. League A is the strongest league, consisting of the highest-ranked teams, and League D is the weakest league, consisting of the lowest-ranked teams.

Leagues A, B, and C are split up into four groups of four, and League D is split into two groups, one of four and one of three. Each team plays every team in their group twice–once at home, and once away. This year’s groups are:

League A

  • Group A1: France, Denmark, Croatia, Austria
  • Group A2: Spain, Portugal, Switzerland, Czech Republic
  • Group A3: Italy, Germany, England, Hungary
  • Group A4: Belgium, Netherlands, Poland, Wales

League B

  • Group B1: Ukraine, Scotland, Republic of Ireland, Armenia
  • Group B2: Iceland, Russia, Israel, Albania
  • Group B3: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Romania, Montenegro
  • Group B4: Sweden, Norway, Serbia, Slovenia

League C

  • Group C1: Turkey, Luxembourg, Lithuania, Faroe Islands
  • Group C2: Northern Ireland, Greece, Kosovo, Cyprus
  • Group C3: Slovakia, Belarus, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan
  • Group C4: Bulgaria, North Macedonia, Georgia, Gibraltar

League D

  • Group D1: Liechtenstein, Moldova, Andorra, Latvia
  • Group D2: Malta, Estonia, San Marino

The four group winners from League A will go on to play in a knockout tournament. The winners of each group in the following groups will be promoted to the one above them in the next Nations League. So, lets say Liechtenstein wins Group D1 and Turkey wins Group C1. Liechtenstein would then be in group C in the next Nations League, and Turkey will be in group B. The nations at the bottom of Leagues A and B will be relegated down, while the bottom four teams of League C will fight in a playoff to see who gets relegated.

Games will start on June 1st, and the matchday schedule is as follows:

  • Matchday 1&2: June 1-8, 2022
  • Matchday 3&4: June 9-14, 2022
  • Matchday 5&6: Sept. 22-27, 2022

 We are unsure as to how the Nations League will affect the EURO 2024 qualifiers, though UEFA is expected to make an announcement soon.

New Sweepstakes Casino!
High 5 Casino
New Player Offer
Free Signup Promo
Get 5 Free Sweeps Coins + 600 Free Diamonds

Get Free Bonuses Straight to Your Inbox

  Arrow Bold