Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh Won AP Coach Of The Year

Michigan’s Jim Harbaugh Won AP Coach Of The Year
© Junfu Han | 2021 Dec 5
✍️ Written by
Nick Noe
🗓 Updated
Aug 23rd 2023

Everything seems like it’s worked out perfectly for the Wolverines this season. Michigan beat Ohio State, breaking an eight-game losing streak in their rivalry and they made it to the Big Ten title for the first time in 17 years where they dominated Iowa.

After leading the Wolverines to The Big Ten title, University Of Michigan’s football coach Jim Harbaugh was voted this year’s College Football Coach Of The Year by the Associated Press.

Harbaugh is the first Michigan coach to win the AP Coach of the Year Award that was presented by Regions Bank. This is also the first from the Big Ten since Penn State’s Joe Paterno in 2005.

Harbaugh received 22 of 53 first-place votes and 103 points from a panel of AP Top 25 voters. He finished ahead of Cincinnati’s Luke Fickell, who had 16 first-place votes and 88 points.

Baylor’s Dave Aranda was voted third and Michigan State’s Mel Tucker was voted fourth. Kirby Smart was voted fifth with a first-place vote and Utah State’s Blake Anderson was sixth after receiving three first-place votes.

This is Harbaugh seventh season as coach of his alma mater after going 2-4 in the Big Ten’s abbreviated schedule in 2020.

New Sweepstakes Casino!
High 5 Casino
New Player Offer
Free Signup Promo
Get 5 Free Sweeps Coins + 600 Free Diamonds

Get Free Bonuses Straight to Your Inbox

  Arrow Bold