MLB Hall of Fame Class of 2023: Scott Rolen Stats, Accolades, and Career

MLB Hall of Fame Class of 2023: Scott Rolen Stats, Accolades, and Career
Image ©Jeff Swinger via Imagn Content Services, LLC
✍️ Written by
Frank Weber
🗓 Updated
May 19th 2023

I know, no one really cares about the MLB Hall of Fame–but it still brings me a bit of joy every year, and reminds me of what is to come: Spring Training. You can bet on spring training games through any of these Pennsylvania Online Casinos–Pennsylvania specifically, in honor of Phillies Third Baseman Scott Rolen’s induction into the Hall of Fame.

Now I’m not going to single out the Phillies for Rolen–while the slick-fielding third baseman did play 6 and a half seasons in Philly, he also played for the Cardinals, Blue Jays, and Reds. He clobbered 316 home runs across his 17 year career, amassing 2077 hits and 1287 RBIs while he was at it. His .281 career average lends hand to his .855 OPS, and he has the 10th-highest WAR among all MLB third basemen.

This was Rolen’s sixth year on the ballot, and the sixth time proved to be a charm. In his first year on the ballot, he barely hung on to relevancy by receiving just over 10% of the vote. Now, fast forward 5 years, and he’s won over the hearts of 76.3% of voters.

If you want to take a look at the ballot, here it is:

2023 MLB Hall of Fame Ballot Results

  • Scott Rolen: 297 votes, 76.3%
  • Todd Helton: 281 votes, 72.2%
  • Billy Wagner: 265 votes, 68.1%
  • Andruw Jones: 226 votes, 58.1%
  • Gary Sheffield: 214 votes, 55%
  • Carlos Beltran: 181 votes, 46.5%
  • Jeff Kent: 181 votes, 46.5%
  • Alex Rodriguez: 139 votes, 35.7%
  • Manny Ramirez: 129 votes, 33.2%
  • Omar Vizquel: 76 votes, 19.5%
  • Andy Pettitte: 66 votes, 15.4%
  • Jimmy Rollins: 50 votes, 12.9%
  • Mark Buehrle: 42 votes, 10.8%
  • Francisco Rodriguez: 42 votes, 10.8%
  • Torii Hunter: 27 votes, 6.9%

The following players received under 5% of the vote, thus dropping them off of future ballots.

  • Bronson Arroyo
  • RA Dickey
  • John Lackey
  • Mike Napoli
  • Huston Street
  • Matt Cain
  • Jacoby Ellsbury
  • Andre Ethier
  • JJ Hardy
  • Jhonny Peralta
  • Jered Weaver
  • Jayson Werth

This was also Jeff Kent’s last year on the ballot because he reached the maximum of ten years.

Scott Rolen is joined by Fred McGriff, who was a unanimous selection by the Contemporary Baseball Era Players Committee back in December.

New Sweepstakes Casino!
High 5 Casino
New Player Offer
Free Signup Promo
Get 5 Free Sweeps Coins + 600 Free Diamonds

Get Free Bonuses Straight to Your Inbox

  Arrow Bold