CFB Coach of the Year Odds 2024

CFB Coach of the Year Odds 2024
Image ©Since 1986 the American Heart Association has presented the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award which is named after the legendary Alabama football coach.
Ty Bronicel
Written by:
Ty Bronicel
Andrew McDermott
Fact checked by:
Andrew McDermott
Updated: May 14th 2024

Bear Bryant Award Odds

Since 1986 the American Heart Association has presented the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year Award which is named after the legendary Alabama football coach.

This differs from the The Associated Press College Football Coach of the Year Award but the winners from year to year have almost mirrored each other.

Anyhow, would it shock you that you can wager on this year’s outcome? It shouldn’t because you can.

You and your fellow wagering neighbor are looking for the next TCU. TCU and Head Coach Sonny Dykes were one of the most surprising units to make a playoff.

Yeah, eventually they were beaten (badly) by Georgia in the National Championship, but it was a great season and Dykes brought home the honor.

DeBoer and an electric offensive unit mirrored the winner from two years ago -- TCU's Sonny Dykes -- who made the playoff before being beaten in National Championship.

So, what do we and top sportsbooks in the US think about this season?

College Football Coach of the Year Odds

Well, if Georgia completes a three-peat – and I think the Bulldogs will, unless it’s Florida State – then Kirby Smart should be named National Coach of the Year.

But let’s say another team surprises like TCU and/or Washington did last season. Those two would be the aforementioned Seminoles with head coach Mike Norvell and a sleeper, but yet wide-awake, angry Beavers team at Oregon State, led by head coach Jonathan Smith.

The Beavs were 10-3 last season and, granted, they got crushed by Utah, but they damn near beat USC and Washington. They also upset rival Oregon and then kicked the crap out of Florida 30-3 in the Las Vegas Bowl.

They’re good and they bring back a lot of talent as well as former Clemson QB/transer DJ Uiagalelei who will become a star in small-town Corvallis, which is one of the friendliest, chill college campuses in the country.

Renovated stadium too. Plus, this realignment BS … You do not want to play the Beavers this season, especially at the renovated Reser Stadium which will be raucous for every home game.

Smith has a losing record (26-31) at OSU, but he’s turned this program around. The Beavers have won 17 games in the past two seasons and I think they’re getting to at least 9 or 10 wins this season.

Could be your next surprise TCU.

As far as Florida State, I just dig this team. Their recruiting class and transfers will provide major additions. We’ll find out if LSU is the real deal against them.

I’m going FSU. All in on the Seminoles as you can read here.

Mike Norvell is 18-16 at Florida State and 56-31 overall in his seven seasons as a head coach. Here are his results:

2016 – Memphis – 8-5

2017 – Memphis – 10-3

2018 – Memphis – 8-6

2019 – Memphis 12-1

2020 – Florida State – 3-6

2021 – Florida State – 5-7

2022 – Florida State – 10-3

Pretty clear he can turn a program around and he’s done so in Tallahassee.

He’s got a dynamite QB and Heisman Trophy dark horse in Jordan Travis.

CFB Coach of the Year Winner Odds 2023-24

Here are the preseason odds for CFB Coach of the Year, but before playing a bet, be sure to check out all the best sportsbook promotions and claim a welcome bonus to boost your bankroll.

Kirby Smart (Georgia) +800

Brian Kelly (LSU) +800

Ryan Day (Ohio State) +1200

Nick Saban (Alabama) +1200

Steve Sarkisian (Texas) +1200

Mike Norvell (Florida State) +1200

James Franklin (Penn State) +1500

Dabo Swinney (Clemson) +1600

Luke Fickell (Wisconsin) +1800

Jimbo Fisher (Texas A&M) +2000

Kalen DeBoer (Washington) +2000

Jim Harbaugh (Michigan) +2200

Jonathan Smith (Oregon State) +2500

Kyle Whittingham (Utah) +2500

Marcus Freeman (Notre Dame) +2800

Kirk Ferentz (Iowa) +3000

Jeff Brohm (Louisville) +3000

Lincoln Riley (USC) +3000

Josh Heupel (Tennessee) +3000

Dan Lanning (Oregon) +3500

Deion Sanders (Colorado) +3500

Brent Venables (Oklahoma) +3500

Matt Rhule (Nebraska) +3500

Hugh Freeze (Auburn) +4000

Happy wagering, everyone. And since I’m writing from Salt Lake City, home of the Utah Utes, welcome all you Gainseville Gators fans.

And if you're looking for an online sweepstakes sportsbook to place these wagers, be sure to check out Fliff Social Sportsbook.

Hope you enjoy the season!

First Bet Is On Caesars - Get Up To $1,000 Back If You Lose
Sign up & Get $1,000 Bonus Bet
Claim offer
Ty Bronicel verified
Topic Expert
Ty Bronicel

Ty Bronicel is a dedicated journalist and graduate of the University of Utah with over 25 years of experience in web media. He has worked for USA TODAY, MSN, Yahoo!, Yahoo! Sports,,, and

More about Ty Bronicel

Get Free Bonuses Straight to Your Inbox